The UWM Anthropology Student Union (ASU) is a student-run organization designed to serve the needs and interests of undergraduate and graduate anthropology students. Membership is open to all registered UWM students and alumni. Membership dues are assessed once per semester and are payable at the first general meeting of each semester; payment for the full year is accepted at the beginning of the Fall semester. To be eligible for conference funding, Fall semester dues must be paid by October 1, and Spring semester dues must be paid by February 20.

To Join:
All undergraduate Anthropology majors and graduate students are considered members of the organization, but to fully benefit from all that ASU has to offer - including assistance in presenting at conferences, discounts on ASU functions, and voting privileges - there is a membership fee of $6.00 per semester or $10.00 for the year.

What ASU Offers:
Monthly meetings keep you up-to-date on how to get involved in the anthropology program at UWM. Regular social events connect you with other anthropology students.

Field Notes: FieldNotes is a venue for undergraduate and graduate student to publish original research. The journal is peer-reviewed, edited, and published entirely by anthropology students. Submitting an article or acting as a reviewer provides invaluable professional experience.

Student Colloquium: ASU hosts and annual Colloquium every Spring semester. The Colloquium offers students the opportunity to present their research in a professional conference environment, gaining valuable experience for regional, national, or international conferences.

ASU Listserv:
The ASU listserv is your link to UWM Anthropology: organizational announcements, event announcements, departmental announcements, book requests, internship and job opportunities, etc. Please contact Dr. Bettina Arnold ( to request to be added to the listserv.

Join ASU on Facebook: Anthropology Student Union at UW-Milwaukee.


President: Heather Thomas-Flores (

Vice President: Josh Rivers (

Secretary: Megan Thornton (

Treasurer: Lauren Kiesewetter (

Faculty Representatives: Josh Rivers (

                                     Eric Burant (

Media Coordinator: Hannah Patten (

Event Coordinator: Alycia Lewis (

Undergraduate Representative: Hannah Blija (

Event Calendar

« May July »
June 2018